Team Ico Working On “Sequel”?

Ico

So Kotaku reported that OPM ran into Kaz Hirai and asked what Fumito Ueda and crew was up to and he didn’t know but one of the executives accompanying him did and said “I’m pretty sure they are doing the sequel.”

Now to be honest I don’t want to see a sequel, well let me rephrase that. I don’t want to see a direct sequel to either Ico or SotC. One can make the argument that Ico was somewhat a sequel to SotC, I mean it is set many, many years into this particular world’s future so that’s technically a sequel? But wait, Ico came first so SotC is actually a prequel. So basically what I don’t want is an Ico 2 or SotC 2: Electric Boogaloo. So i’m hoping by “sequel”, they mean the game is set in the same world, just 1000 years past the events in Ico. Here’s hoping the team is well on their way at crafting yet another memorable gaming experience.

Fumito Ueda’s Team Ico is the very reason why I continue to play video games, period. Don’t get me wrong I love many game development teams out there. I love Level-5 , I love Kojima Productions, I love Nintendo, I love Treasure, I love Square Enix, but at the very tippy top of the list, is Team Ico. They are a classic case of quality over quantity. They only have two games under their collective belt with Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, but what amazing games they are. If there is ever an argument for “games as art”, you immediately cite these two. I’m extremely hyped to hear any sort of rumor of Fumito Ueda’s team working on a new game. I mean I already knew that Team Ico was making a game for the PS3 and probably has been in development for a while, but just hearing any sort of real news from an actual person makes me excited.
Team Ico

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Team Ico Working On “Sequel”?”

  1. Video Games » Team Ico Working On “Sequel”? Says:

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptFumito Ueda’s Team Ico is the very reason why I continue to play video games, period. Don’t get me wrong I love many game development teams out there. I love Level-5 , I love Kojima Productions, I love Nintendo, I love Treasure, … […]

  2. T Says:

    Yo, you gotta be more nerdy and say “wanda and the colossus” not SotC. I think I should play ICO again this winter break…along with RE4 again. That’s right.

  3. standing8 Says:

    Oh right, so when people go “Wanda and the Colossus?”, I can go oh I mean SHADOW of the Colossus haha. Booooo to RE4. I’m preoccupied playing games from the 8-bit and 16-bit era anyway.

  4. Project Trico « A Love Supreme Dreaming… Says:

    […] this since I slayed the last colossus in SOTC. I’ve kept tabs and written a post(once here and again here) anytime new information would leak out concerning the next Ueda/Kaido opus. To […]

Leave a Reply

