Sample Clearance: Lupe Fiasco/Celeste Legaspi

Lupe Fiasco

Long after I was up on Lupe, I found out that FNF producer Soundtrakk was Filipino and that “Kick, Push” actually used a sample from an old Filipino record. I got a hold of the song(big thanks to Meli Mel) , it’s called “Bolero Medley” by Celeste Legaspi. I played it for my parents the other day and both of them started singing along with it, it was pretty funny. I played them “Kick, Push” and they both were very surprised. “They turned this into a Rap song?!” my Dad said. All laughs, they both lost it.

“Bolero Medley” by Celeste Legaspi:

“Kick, Push” by Lupe Fiasco:

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Sample Clearance: Lupe Fiasco/Celeste Legaspi”

  1. Mel Says:

    Hey-Hey Meli Mel….that’s me…nice blog…
    kudos!!!

  2. standing8 Says:

    Of course. Thanks for the song.

  3. bANG Says:

    Damn the sample is FIRE!!

  4. Osoosickwitit Says:

    the sample is too sick.

    trakk is a genius for this.

  5. Jero Says:

    Yeah I mean how many mainstream hip hop songs sample a Filipino song? Wow, just listening to this again makes me feel a little odd. It makes me realize that Lu has come quite a ways since this song came out. I kinda miss these old days.

  6. Franco Chan Says:

    Isn’t the song called, “Magtaksil Man Ikaw”?

  7. emperorbananaketchup Says:

    The same sample was also used by K’Naan in Kicked & Pushed.

  8. Jero Says:

    ^Word.

Leave a Reply

