Top 10 Hip Hop Songs of 2007

This year was a great year for Hip Hop, for me at least. I haven’t felt this way in quite a while. This year brought me albums from some of my favorite hip hop artists/groups of all time. I got releases from Common, Kanye, Little Brother, Nas(GH), Jay-Z, Ghostface and come December 11th and 18th, Wu-Tang Clan and Lupe Fiasco respectively. This year also brought me some new acts to look forward to in the future like Blu + Exile, Kid Sister, Gemstones and The Cool Kids. It was a little tough to narrow down my list to just ten, but I managed and this is what I came up with:

10. “Give It Up” by Twista Feat. Pharrell

Twist/Pharrell

Some artist just go well together. Twista and Pharrell have only linked up a few times but each time has been a home run. First with Lavish and now with Give It Up. I love the video too, it’s like a 3 minute BBC/Ice Cream commercial.

9. “Bittersweet” by Kanye West Feat. John Mayer

Kanye West

I think I can speak for alot of people out there when I say i’ve been waiting for this one since Late Registration. John Mayer is great on the hook.

8. “I Know” by Jay-Z

Jigga

Jay-Z over the Neptunes? Sign me up. My favorite track off of American Gangster and that’s saying alot considering I like almost every song on that album. Yeah AG wasn’t Reasonable Doubt, but of all of Hov’s albums this comes the closest. Possibly my third favorite Jigga album behind RD and The Black Album.

7. “Black Mags” by The Cool Kids

The Cool Kids

It was Chicago’s year this year. Would’ve liked to see I Rock as a single but Black Mags will definitely suffice. BMX’s was this years Skateboards, don’t sleep. I can’t wait for January when The Bake Sale EP drops, only to hold me off until middle of next year when Totally Flossed Out comes out.

6. “Touch of Mink” by Camp Lo

Camp Lo

Deckstream on the ridiculous beat here with Camp Lo sounding as smooth as ever. Geechie Suede and Sonny Cheeba sound right at home rhyming about females and the finer things in life. The beat has sort of a throwback vibe not unlike “Luchini”, which I like very much.

5. “Soul Amazing” by Blu + Exile

Blu Exile

The Left Coast was represented extremely well this year by Blu + Exile. Smooth beat, dope lyrics, just an amazing song. Blu along with Murs are among the very, very few rappers that keep my hope alive for West Coast Hip Hop in this day in age.

4. “International Players Anthem” by UGK + Outkast

UGK

UGK + Outkast + Triple Six mafia sampling Willie Hutch = ?

Anyone? Anyone?

Answer: Southern Hip Hop done right.

R.I.P. Pimp C

3. “I Still Love H.E.R. by The Teriyaki Boyz Feat. Kanye West

Teriyaki Boyz

Like one big Bathing Ape commercial. Nigo’s Boyz rhyming in Japanese(for the most part) over a K-West beat. Freshness. This song reflects my thoughts on Hip Hop this year. It reminded me that of all the bullshit that comes out of her mouth sometimes, in the end I still love H.E.R.

2. “Nostalgia” by Marco Polo Feat. Masta Ace

Marco Masta

I feel like the older and older I become, the more and more i’m gonna appreciate this song. Marco Polo on the beat doing his best Preemo impersonation and Masta Ace showing these kids he’s been killing it since before they were born. Arguably my favorite song of the year.

1. “We On” by Gem Stones Feat. Lupe Fiasco

Gem Lu

No other rap song got me more hyped this year than this. I had first heard a snippet of this and played that out like there was no tomorrow. When the full song was released, I lost it and went nuts. Lu and Gem trading back and fourth, showing they can “twist” with the best of them. The lyrics, the beat, the feel, everything was hitting on this song.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Top 10 Hip Hop Songs of 2007”

  1. David Amidon Says:

    Nice drop on the Polo gem, didn’t expect it but it’s definitely a sleeper track.

  2. standing8 Says:

    Sleeper indeed. Not many are gonna cite this song as one of the nicest tracks this year and it’s a shame.

  3. Narayan Prasad Says:

    Yeh this is really cooll man, i really dont get this songs hear, know i have to search for these songs i heard the songs on this site and felt yo people are doing a good job, one request would be that you should make some provision for us to save these as we wont get in our town, please suggest any site from where i can download these songs..

    thak you. keep up your good work……..

    Happy new year…..2008

  4. standing8 Says:

    Thanks for the compliments man. Happy new years. Ummm, you could get them on iTunes. That’s where I got them…most of them at least.

  5. Jess Says:

    I still love H.E.R

  6. Jess Says:

    I STILL LOVE HER IS SO STUPID!
    !!!!!!!!!

  7. Jero Says:

    ^Yeah I know huh? I can’t even understand what they’re saying! It’s like they’re speaking in a different language or something. They need to just stick to practicing Kung Fu and eating Chinese Food. Wacky Asians.

  8. industryfinest Says:

    Nice Sounds!!!

  9. Jero Says:

    Thanks!!!

  10. R.E.T.A.R.D Says:

    wotta fuck hella racist to asianz man

Leave a Reply

