Is It Just Me?

Or do these two songs sound alike?

“Last Night” by Diddy Feat. Keyshia Cole:

Diddy/Keyshia

“When Doves Cry” by Prince:

Prince

I really thought there was gonna be a huge 80’s Electro revival in Hip Hop and R&B. I’m talking 80’s Electro Funk, Mantronix, new wave-ish with some Prince production sounding shit thrown in. Groups like Chromeo, Poly, Kid Sister have been holding it down on the indie/underground tip, but I thought that this song by Puff and songs like “Promise” by Ciara(Electro Chop & Screwed*) were gonna jump start the new trend into the mainstream with a more commercially accessible sound. I was actually looking forward to it, something fresh, something new, a little different than what I’m used to hearing on the radio. I mean the 70’s have been depleted of most of it’s disco and funk samples(especially those from ’73), it’s time for a change. We need to tap back into this niche again if you ask me.

Here’s to a Happy New Years everyone!

*I’m claiming that word if it catches on.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Is It Just Me?”

  1. Manny Z Says:

    I could do without Keisha’s vocals, but apart from that this is a pretty cool track. The Prince influence is definately there, and it’s been well done… doesn’t sound like a pastiche, but an honest interpretation of that style. I think the 80s influence will grow, some may do it with a nudge and a wink, but others will feel confident to express their love for that sound in new and exciting ways.

  2. standing8 Says:

    Yeah it doesn’t sound forced. I think they went into it honestly with that era in mind and successfully did it without it sounding “throwback” or “retro”. It sounds very contemporary. I really like the song, the vocals and the production. I think to some degree, Timberland and Pharrell have that 80’s Electro sensibility to a degree.

Leave a Reply

