Jealous Girl

I can’t believe this song has been done and covered three times total in my life already. Originally performed by New Edition all the way back in 83′, written and produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. It was covered by Another Bad Creation in 89′(I had the cassette tape) and then in 97′ by Mase Feat. Puffy and 112. Each song is great. I really like New Edition’s version but I’m biased towards ABC’s cause this is the one I grew up on.

My favorite cover has to be the one by Mase and Puffy. This is one of the few times where I actually like it when rappers attempt to sing. I can’t help but love Mase and Puff trying to sing this, their ad libs throughout the song always has me dying with laughter. I especially like it when Puff tries to hold a note for an extended period of time, has to catch his breath and continues on. “Why can’t he just let it beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee… *catches breath* …eeeeeeeeee.”

NE

ABC

Mase

“Jealous Girl” by New Edition:

“Jealous Girl” by Another Bad Creation:

“Jealous Guy” by Mase Feat. Puff and 112:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Jealous Girl”

  1. Blaze1 Says:

    I would have to agree with you in that the ABC version is better remembered, but I like the NE as my fav.

  2. Danny Choo Says:

    Nice tracks ^^

  3. Jero Says:

    Danny, you have an awesome site!

  4. DaVid Says:

    I still remember listening to Ma$e’s version and thinking WHAT THE @$(@!? Then I laughed all the way til the end of the track. Priceless.

  5. Jero Says:

    Yeah, the best part of the song is the ad libs. The spur of the moment singing, the “oooohs” and “aaahhhs” toward the end. Classic.

Leave a Reply

