Souled Out Sunday: Fantasy(Remix)

What if Celine Dion released a new album and featured U-God on the lead off single? That’s how crazy this was. When I first saw the video for this, I literally couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Cause up to this point in her career, Mariah Carey was basically an adult pop star. With songs like “Vision of Love”, “Emotions” and “Hero”, Mariah pretty much appealed to grown folks that watched Vh-1. You know, way back when Vh-1 actually played music videos.

Now around this time I was already a huge Wu-Tang Clan fan and was familiar with each emcee in the group. So when the Dirt Dog showed up at the beginning talking about “Keepin it real, son.” I flipped! I was like “Oh shit, it’s Mariah Carey……..and the ODB?!” Of all the Wu Tang members they could’ve chosen, they went with the oldest, dirtiest, raunchiest one of them all. Boggles my mind to this day. One of the many classic Bad Boy remixes of the 90’s.

“Me and Mariah, go back like babies and passifires…”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Souled Out Sunday: Fantasy(Remix)”

  1. Ghetto D Says:

    I think everyone bugged out on this one. Big Baby Jesus was coming off Shimmy Shimmy Ya’ll and he hit eveyone in the head when he came out on this joint. I was surprised that Dirt McGirt ripped the Genius of Love beat, let alone a Puffy/D Dot beat.

    My vote goes for a Micheal Bolton/Lil Kim remix. That whould’ve been hot.

  2. Jero Says:

    I feel you. At the time, it was hard to think of Dirt without that dark, gritty Rza production. And the furthest thing from my mind was how good he would sound over popular sample heavy Hitmen beat. But then again, “Genius of Love” is such a great beat that it’s hard for anyone not to rip it. Especially the likes of the one man army ASON.

    Dirty+Bad Boy+Mariah+Tom Tom Club=WTF?!=Amazing

Leave a Reply

