Let’s Take It Back: Daytona 500

I really don’t have to say much about this. I mean this video pretty much has all the ingredients to make me go totally bonkers. It was Ghostface’s debut album, which was his best album to date and NOT Supreme Clientèle like almost everyone else seems to think. It was RZA on the obscure sampling tip, it was Rae, Cappa and Ghost verbally murdering said beat, it had the Force MD’s on the hook. And if that wasn’t enough, the video was fucking Speed Racer!

Oh by the way, did I mention the video was fucking Speed Racer?! Japanese Anime + Hardcore East Coast 90’s Hip Hop = My head exploding upon seeing this for the first time.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Let’s Take It Back: Daytona 500”

  1. Ghetto D Says:

    One of my favorite songs on the whole Ironman album. Plus the video was classic. I remember people dubbing anmie with rock music on skate videos but I never thought I see one with rap.
    Rza beats + Rae, Ghost, Cappadonna is just unbeatable.

    I never knew that was Force MDs on the hook. I should of took a closer look at the liner notes.

  2. Jero Says:

    Other rappers of the time weren’t thinking on the same level as Wu Tang was. I think of all the rappers of the time and which ones would dubb their videos with anime as the backdrop(especially ones that were as hard core as Wu), I can’t think of any.

Leave a Reply

