Souled Out Sunday: Every Little Step

When I was 8, my older cousin Portia offered to buy me a tape and I remember she gave me a choice of either Stevie B. or Bobby Brown. I pondered over the decision and eventually went with Bobby and it has since been one of my favorite R&B albums of all time. I don’t remember exactly the order in which his many singles from Don’t Be Cruel came out in but I know a big part of it was due to this song. I really liked “My Perogative”, “Don’t Be Cruel” , I absolutely loved “Roni” and “Rock Wit Cha” but it was “Every Little Step” that made me not just want but need this tape in my collection.

A huge thanks to my cousin for being partly responsible in shaping my musical tastes.

Wow, high top fades are hardcore but crooked high top fades with a slope are next level.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Souled Out Sunday: Every Little Step”

  1. Ghetto D Says:

    Doing the roger rabbit, biker shorts, gumby fades, and wearing dress shoes with the loud neon socks, that was fresh in 88. That whole album was just had hit after hit on it. This was some of Teddy Riley’s best work and the album was a huge part of bringing New Jack to the mainstream.

  2. T Says:

    I can’t even nod my head to the beat no matter how hard I try.

  3. Jero Says:

    Ghetto D: Haha, word. Don’t forget about suits while wearing no shirt on underneath. Teddy Riley was a king in the early 90’s. But when I think of “Don’t Be Cruel” as an album I think of Babyface. I think it’s because “Rock Wit Cha” is one of my favorite slow jams ever.

    T: I can’t get into Tool no matter how hard I try. I’ve accepted it a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

