ALSD Mixtape Archive Vol. 1

I have alot of mixtapes from way back when and I thought it would be good idea to archive my collection. At the very least document them so that I won’t forget what was actually on them. I haven’t heard what was on these in nearly a decade, so I thought it would be nice to revisit them and get a little nostalgic while sharing them with anyone interested. Ahhhhh cassettes, can it be that it was all so simple then?*

*I need to stop using that phrase when I do posts that deal with reminiscing and nostalgia.

This one was from high school and was one I borrowed from a friend but never returned.(That’s actually her handwriting on the tape) Alot of filipino dance artists like the ones you see listed in the picture were what was originally on this. I don’t know if M:G is filipino or not but the rest are. Even Kai to my surprise. I had no idea they were filipino! I bought the “Say You’ll Stay” CD single way back when it came out and I was like, “oh, an all Chinese singing group…cool.” I mean Kai isn’t really a filipino name or word or term is it? I thought it was maybe Chinese or Japanese in origin, but obviously I was wrong.

The thing that surprised me upon revisiting this tape was the scratch practice I recorded. It was my skills at their very “best” and by “best” I mean completely sub par to mediocre. Usually when I hear an old tape of me scratching I cringe and cover my ears with my hands, but there were actually moments on this where I sorta impressed myself…sorta. I’m normally extremely off beat and sloppy, but on this I was uncharacteristically clean.

Side A:

“I Need A Freak” by Electrocute
“Untitled(How Does It Feel?” by D’Angelo
“I Will Always Be There For You” by Anquette
“All Cried Out” by Lisa Lisa & The Cult Jam
“I Do Love You” by GQ
“Anything(Remix)” by SWV Feat. Wu-Tang Clan
“September” by Earth Wind and Fire
me scratching on my old turntables the rest of this side cutting to some Dirtstyle Break record
“PYT” by Michael Jackson
“For You I Will” by Monica
“Through The Fire” by Chaka Khan
-“You’re Still A Young Man” by Tower of Power
“I Feel Good” by James Brown

Side B:

“Turn Your Lights Down Low” by Lauryn Hill + Bob Marley
“All For You” by Janet Jackson
“Is It Real?” by Pinay
“Sweet Honesty” by M:G
Howard Stern fills the rest of this side of the tape

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

