Love Lockdown

Wow Ye, another new album already? It seems Kanye is not resting on his laurels and is hard at work on his next opus entitled 808‘s & Heartbreak. Surprisingly Ye will be doing a lot more singing on this and I think I speak for the majority of people out there by saying that if there’s one thing the world needs more of, is rappers singing. Yup. Rappers not rapping, but singing. Vocoding and Auto Tuning with no sense of shame.

In his first single, “Love Lockdown” Kanye belts and croons his heart out and not once did I hear one rap line uttered. This scares me tremendously. Now I’ve doubted the Louis Vuitton Don before. Once on Late Registration when he released two horrible singles in “Gold Digger” and “Diamonds From Sierra Leone”. Also on Graduation when he came with “You Can’t Tell Me Nothing”. In the end both albums turned out amazing. I don’t know, I guess I just don’t like Ye’s choice in first singles. It’s kinda like he chooses the worst song on the album and releases it as a single so that the rest of the album shines. Whenever Kanye releases a first single it’s like he’s saying to me, “Hey check this song out, I bet you don’t like it. You hate it right? Well you’ll be glad to know the rest of the album is better than this! So go and cop that!” And I do and I end up loving it.

I was horribly wrong both times and it feels like deja vu all over again with him coming completely from left field with his latest single taking a cue from Andre 3000 singing his ass off Love Movement style. Will Ye go 4 for 4 with 808’s & Heartbreak? Or will he finally drop the ball? This time I’m gonna have complete faith in the man. After three classic albums, how can I not trust him? So I’m gonna be excited for the new album, *sigh* despite the singing.

“Love Lockdown” by Kanye West:

Man, listen to that auto tune during the chorus. It’s kinda like fingernails on a chalk board.

Oh and this is just for fun. I just crack up when I listen to this.

“Love Lockdown Pt. 2” by J. Silkk:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

