R.I.P. EGM/1UP

It’s been tough for me to see the recent demise of EGM and 1UP. I’ve been a huge fan of 1UP for a couple years now and I would spend literally 5 to 6 hours of my week listening to the various podcasts and watching the latest episode of the 1Up Show. After all that time you really got to know these people like they were your friends who you talked and played games with. To see so many of them lose their job is a very grim thing. Not only for many of us who are fans but most especially for them no longer having a job.

Electronic Gaming Monthly was the other major casualty of the UGO buyout. I haven’t subscribed to it since I was in high school but ever since I’ve been playing video games, it’s been Gamepro, EGM and which ever Dave Halverson magazine was out at the time. To have one of them not on the magazine rack is pretty damn depressing. It’s a small part of my childhood gone for good.

EGM Sheng Long Scan

The earliest, most memorable EGM moment was back when I was in 5th or 6th grade. I was riding the bus home from school and someone had the EGM issue where they had that infamous “Sheng Long” screen cap. I freaked out and thought to myself, “Who the fuck is the old guy with fire on the end of his Dragon Punch?!”

My friends were saying how it was some secret boss even more harder to beat than Bison! My mind exploded. I don’t remember when I found out that that was all just a April Fools Day prank but I, along with EVERY other kid who was obsessed with Street Fighter, felt like a complete idiot.

April Fools!

*sigh* Remembering this makes me a little teary eyed. Goodbye Quarterman. Goodbye Sushi X. May you two live forever in the annals of game journalism. Farewell EGM, thanks for the memories.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

