Was Blind But Now I See

I realize now that J Dilla was a god. Maybe it was the frame of mind I was at during the time I first heard his beats. Or maybe it was the type of artists he was producing for that didn’t click with me but I just never really understood the praise he got. I was a little peeved that I couldn’t grasp the brilliance in him that others saw. Now, I don’t want to toot my own horn but I feel I have a pretty darn good understanding and overall appreciation of Hip Hop. So what was it exactly that those in the same elitist, snobby, pretentious league I considered myself to be in, saw that I didn’t?

Well whatever the case may be, I can safely say now that I get it. Label me a complete convert. I went from being the trouble maker sinner kid who was friends with the kids that went to Sunday school to full blown Born Again Child Evangelist. I can see clearly now the genius of the man. I just hope I’m not too late and maybe if I start repenting now, the day I make it to wherever it is you go to when you die, the Hip Hop gods will allow me entrance.

Awhile back ?uestlove wrote an amazing post on Okayplayer about J-Dilla doing what he does best. I suggest going here to read and take in the audio samples.(I’ve been listening to them for the last hour or so) Hopefully after reading it, you’ll agree to have witnessed a miracle and Dilla will have changed your life as well. RIP James Dewitt Yancey.

The “Little Brother” Beat Story

DillaJay Dee

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Was Blind But Now I See”

  1. tantor Says:

    It’s pretty f*cking sad that it wasn’t the music itself that made you appreciate him , but the technical process that went into it, explained by someone else. Thanks Questlove for converting a new fan boy.

  2. Jero Says:

    Back then my mind and tastes weren’t aligned with Dilla’s beats. But as time goes along, you learn to appreciate things you didn’t before. Or not. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

